Postcrossing #1

pc6pc5

Merhaba!

Bugün sizinle yeni keşfettiğim ve bir parçası olmaktan büyük mutluluk duyduğum bir projeyi paylaşmak istiyorum: Postcrossing!

Hi!

Today I’ll share with you a project that I’ve recently discovered and which makes me very happy to be a part of it: Postcrossing!

Bu projeyi sevgili Şeyma’nın blogunda keşfettim ve gerçekten bayıldım. Kısaca özetlemem gerekirse Postcrossing sayesinde dünyanın herhangi bir yerinde yaşayan rastgele bir kişiye bir kartpostal yolluyorsunuz ve size de herhangi bir yerden bir kişiden kartpostal geliyor.

I’ve discovered this project on Şeyma’s blog and I really loved it. If I have to explain it shortly; you send a postcard to random person in somewhere in the world and you receive a postcard from a random person from somewhere in the world.

Peki bu nasıl oluyor derseniz; öncelikle www.postcrossing.com  a giriyorsunuz ve üye oluyorsunuz. Daha sonra “Postcards” bölümünden “Send a postcard” kısmına giriyorsunuz ve sistem size bir adres veriyor. İlk üye olduğunuzda en fazla 5 kartpostal gönderebilirsiniz. Daha sonra kartpostallarınız ulaştıkça tekrar gönderme hakkınız oluyor. Kartpostallarınız ulaştığında ise siz de sistemde sıraya giriyorsunuz ve sizin de adresiniz bir kişiye çıkıyor, o da size bir kartpostal yolluyor.

If you say now “so how does this work?”, firstly you go to the www.postcrossing.com and sign up. Then click to “Postcards” ->  “Send a postcard” and voila! system gives you an address. When you first sign up you can send up to 5 postcards at the same time. But when your postcards are delivered you can send a postcard again and your address line up and someone can send you a postcard. 

Üye olduktan sonra sistemden hemen 5 adres istedim ve başladım İstanbul’da kartpostal aramaya. Fakat benim için bu süre biraz sıkıntılı geçti çünkü hiç istediğim gibi kartpostal bulamadım ve postcrossing tutkunlarının hazinesi olan “Keskin color” da evime çok uzakta olan Sirkeci’deydi. Haliyle okuldan fırsat bulup, gidip alıp kartpostallarımı yazana kadar 20 gün geçti!

After I signed up, I requested 5 addresses and started to look for postcards in Istanbul. This process was little bit troublesome because I could not find postcards that I liked. And the “Keskin color” shop which is the postcard heaven of postcrossing fans in Turkey is so far away from my home. So it took 20 days for me to find a time apart from the school, write the postcards and send them!

pc1pc3

Bunu söylüyorum çünkü küçük bir uyarım var, adresi istediğiniz tarihten sonra 60 gün geçtiğinde kartpostalınızın süresi sona eriyor! Yani sitede “expired” olarak görünüyormuş. Fakat yine de alıcı kartpostalın geldiğine dair kodu siteye girdiğinde size tekrar 1 kartpostal daha gönderme hakkı geliyormuş. Okuduğuma göre  120 günde anca giden kartlar bile oluyormuş. Ama sanırım adresi sistemden istediğimiz gün yazıp ertesi gün yollasak daha iyi olabilir?

I’m telling this because I have a little warning here, your postcards expire if 60 days pass after your postcard request. But if recipient receives your postcard after 60 days and submits it to the system you gain your chance to send a new postcard. They said that sometimes it takes 120 days for a postcard to arrive. But I think it could be better if we send the postcard in next couple of days after we request the address, right?

pc2pc4

Kartpostallarımı yazdım ve mutlaka eklememiz gereken TR ile başlayan kodu kartpostallarıma ekledim vee sonunda yolladım. Şimdi sabırsızlıkla ulaşmalarını ve bana da bir kart gelmesini bekliyorum! Posta kutumda bir kartpostal görmeyeli neredeyse 20 yıl oldu! İnanılmaz bir mutluluk yaşayacağım o günü iple çekiyorum!

I’ve written my postcards and added the code which starts with TR (which is special to your country) and I’ve finally send them. Now  I’m waiting them to arrive to right addresses and also I’m waiting a postcard to myself! It’s been nearly 20 years that I haven’t seen a postcard in my post box! I’m looking forward to the day that I’ll be incredibly happy!

Happy Postcrossing!

xx, Lale

One thought on “Postcrossing #1

  1. Pingback: Postcrossing #2

Leave a Reply

